Unlock 1 Answer and 4 Comments. Andrew Hancock - VMware vExpert. See if this solution works for you by signing up for a 7 day free trial. What do I get with a subscription? With your subscription - you'll gain access to our exclusive IT community of thousands of IT pros. We can't always guarantee that the perfect solution to your specific problem will be waiting for you. If you ask your own question - our Certified Experts will team up with you to help you get the answers you need.
Who are the certified experts? How quickly will I get my solution? We can't guarantee quick solutions - Experts Exchange isn't a help desk. We're a community of IT professionals committed to sharing knowledge. Our experts volunteer their time to help other people in the technology industry learn and succeed. Plans and Pricing. If this option is unticked then incoming keystrokes from all clients will be ignored, preventing any remote VNC Viewer from typing into the VNC Server's desktop.
Note that a client will still be deemed active for the purposes of the IdleTimeout setting if it is sending keyboard events to the server, whether or not they are accepted. If this option is unticked then incoming clipboard updates will be ignored from all clients. This option should be used when making a VNC Server effectively view-only, but may also prove useful to prevent clipboard changes made by clients from overriding the VNC Server's local clipboard when this would be undesirable or confusing.
This option, if unticked, prevents the VNC Server from informing clients of changes to its local clipboard contents. This can be useful when untrusted clients are to be allowed to connect to the VNC Server, since it prevents any private data being accidentally leaked via the clipboard.
This option determines whether keyboard and mouse events received from VNC Viewers can cause the screen-saver to be hidden. This option is actually a system-wide setting and is not implemented by VNC Server itself, so there is no equivalent command-line option.
Some older Win32 platforms do not support this option. It is recommended that this check-box be ticked, so that the screen-saver can be disabled by VNC Viewer input. The mouse and keyboard physically attached to the server computer can be disabled for the duration of a remote connection, preventing local users from interacting with the computer.
If this option is set then all incoming connections will be treated as shared, and thus not disconnect any existing connections, regardless of whether the connecting VNC Viewer requested that the connection be shared.
If this option is set then all incoming connections will be treated as non-shared. VNC Server will therefore either disconnect any existing connections, or refuse the incoming connection, depending on whether non-shared connections are configured to replace existing ones see below. When connecting, VNC Viewer specifies whether the connection should be shared or non-shared. If this setting is configured then the VNC Viewer's preference will be respected.
If an incoming connection is to be shared either by choice or because AlwaysShared is set then existing connections remain active. If a connection is non-shared either by choice or because NeverShared is set then either the new connection must be rejected, or existing clients disconnected. If this setting is configured then existing clients will be disconnected when a new non-shared connection is made.
Otherwise, they will remain, and the new connection will fail. Decorations such as wallpaper or font smoothing effects can make it harder for VNC Server to compress graphical data for trasmission to viewers. For viewers connected over slower networks, this can significantly degrade the apparent performance of the server. VNC Server can therefore simplify the desktop in several ways, to improve performance.
This option causes VNC Server to remove any standard wallpaper bitmap that is set, as well as to disable Active Desktop components. This option causes VNC Server to set the desktop background to a plain pattern while conenctions are active. This option causes VNC Server to disable desktop decorations such as font smoothing, window titlebar shading, menu animation, and so on.
These options are used to ensure that if VNC connections to a server are closed because of a network error, idle timeout, or even deliberately, then the computer will be left in as secure a state as possible. On Windows and above, it is possible for VNC Server to lock the workstation, leaving the current user logged in but requiring that their password be re-entered in order to access their programs or data.
Alternatively, VNC Server can completely logoff the current user when there are no more VNC viewers connected, closing any running programs and leaving the workstation ready for another user to log in. VNC Server is designed to support a variety of techniques for tracking changes to the local desktop.
This release supports basic polling of the screen for changes, as well as the classic VNC Hooks technique. If this option is selected then VNC Server will poll strips of the screen for changes. The polling mechanism attempts to minimize the load on the server computer while delivering a reasonable level of responsiveness.
This scheme is more efficient than continuous polling but relies on certain properties of Windows applications and so can "miss" updates in some situations. VNC Hooks will also poll the screen infrequently to catch any missed updates. The VNC Hooks hooking technique cannot track console windows because of limitations in the operating system. Instead, console windows may be polled for changes.
If this option is set then VNC Server will track the visible parts of console windows and poll those areas for changes. This option selects between two screen capture methods. If UseCaptureBlt is false then the faster of the two methods is used, which may in some cases cause alpha-blended windows and tool-tips not to be visible remotely. Note that one aspect of the extra server overhead is that the local cursor will flicker if UserCaptureBlt is enabled.
If you have configured WinVNC 3. VNC Server 4 will warn you when it cannot match existing settings completely, or if they are no longer relevant. Note that you must separately uninstall the WinVNC 3. Some third-party VNC software use non-standard version numbers which may cause incompatibility issues. In addition to the settings described above, the VNC server supports several advanced options.
These options can be set on the command-line or by adding an appropriate value to the Windows registry. Disable or enable the Close menu item in the system tray menu. Note that this does not prevent users from shutting down the WinVNC4 process using the Task Manager or the Service Control Manager if they have sufficient access rights to do so.
Disable or enable the Options Note that this does not prevent users from changing the settings in the Windows registry if they have sufficient access rights to do so. The display device to remote, or empty to remote all displays. Keyboard remapping.
For example, to exchange the " and symbols you would specify the following:. VNC Open is not designed to operate on Windows 3. Because these platforms are inherently insecure, it is not possible to protect the VNC Server settings from unauthorized access. VNC Server is only capable of providing access to session zero.
If a different user session is the active console session whena VNC viewer connects, VNC Server will attempt to make session zero the console session. If you have difficulties which are not covered by this document, try reading the Knowledge Base. There are also some pages to help with troubleshooting.
Attention This is not our current website. Download Documentation. Other sessions cannot be accessed by VNC Open 4. Upgrading from VNC Open 4. See also the QueryConnect Authentication option. Authentication The Authentication page allows you to configure the required mode of authentication and level of security of VNC connections. Allow input events to affect the screen-saver This option determines whether keyboard and mouse events received from VNC Viewers can cause the screen-saver to be hidden.